iron attracts iron…

Posted: July 7, 2008 in my trips 2008
Tags:
ironman frankfurt poster

ironman frankfurt poster

Can you show me the fastest way to get to Hell? I asked my hotel concierge with a mischievous smile.

It’s the European Ironman Championship 2008!! And Kismet was kind enough to schedule the event on the same weekend I am in Frankfurt!

“Hell” for the Ironman competitors can be found in the quaint historical village of Maintal-Hochstadt. It is one of the hot spots of the 180 km bike course. This course will also go through places nicknamed “The Beast” and of course “Heartbreak Hill.” The kind of people who would willingly and bravely go through places named like this are definitely my kind of people! My plan was to find my way to one of these places as invariably the cyclists are forced to go at a slower pace in these sections. Their slower speeds ups my chances of taking better photos. If get lucky I may even get a picture of a certain Spanish Ironboy who makes Batgirl’s action hero heart tick a wee bit faster.

Giddy as a schoolgirl about to see her crush, I rushed to Romerberg yesterday to check out the ongoing preparations and to get as close as possible to the endorphin charged excitement. The grandstand had been set up by a crew wearing cool orange shirts. I had gotten there a little later in the day as I had planned since I there were still a couple of things I needed to finish at work. They had already lined the approach to the finish line with a red carpet and the clock on top was displaying a countdown to the start of the competition. So cool! So I started taking pictures left and right with all the other tourists. I took a quick walk towards the river rhine just to see a part of the route. Bleachers also lined the streets which would be close for the duration of the race. They are clearly expecting thousands of people to line the route to cheer their athletes on. When I was done with the pictures I then proceeded to the souvenir shop and the sports expo and ogled at all the cool triathlon gears. Half the time I really had no idea what I was looking at but they looked all looked so cool. Once in a while a group would walk by me chanting and shouting one cheer or another. The excitement in the air was palpable. I decided to spend the rest of the evening on one of the tables outdoors facing the plaza with a pint of hefe beer and just soak up on the whole adrenalin vibe of the place. It was definitely a good way to end the day.

On my way back, I saw a woman crossing the street wearing a 2007 finisher’s t-shirt of IRONMAN Switzerland! She saw me looking at her and awe must have been written all over my face so she was kind enough to wave. I waved back at her and wished her good luck for her race the next day! She gave me a smile and a thumbs up sign! Iron is definitely my kind of metal! I floated all the way back to my hotel with my ironshoes.

Leave a Reply

