in praise of slow…

Posted: July 19, 2008 in my trips 2008, run, running
Tags: ,
pictures taken while walking around santiago de compostela, spain

pictures taken while walking around santiago de compostela, spain

These last few weeks my run mileage has plummeted to almost zero from an average of about 35kms a week. It has been a month of airplanes and trains and cars. This month, my fastest sprints are confined inside airports as I run to catch planes about to take to take off from one wormhole of a gate or another. Cross-training comes in the guise of lifting heavy luggage up into racks of moving trains. Hydration and relief from the heat consistently appears in a more seductive dark colored liquid infused with alcohol instead of just plain colorless water. And the only PRs I am managing to set actually cover number of hours spent in uninterrupted sleep.

It has been a month with very little running and lots of walking. And I see no reason to complain. I do enjoy the change of pace. Having my family around has made this trip different and special. Yes, I will still run that marathon. And yes, in a few weeks I will start pounding that pavement again with my ironshoes. But for now I will take that long deep breath, put my feet up and embrace the slower tempo without guilt. There will be time enough for speed…

Comments
  1. Gene Ordanza says:

    Myironshoes,

    Wow, average of 35k a week, not bad. From your previous post, I didn’t peg you to be a serious runner πŸ™‚ I would be lucky if I can put in 20k in a week.

    Well, if you’re not running lately better watch out for those food servings, I read somewhere that girls are more likely to gain weight faster (as compared to guys) once they stop their high-impact exercises/activities. Probably hearsay but you’re about to find out in a few weeks time anyways πŸ™‚

    Nice pictures, was that you walking in the tunnel towards the light? hehe

    –gene

  2. myironshoes says:

    no… that would be me tripping in low light! haha! πŸ˜‰
    and no, i’m not a serious runner…yet! just serious about food and my beer. hence the need to run…
    and let’s not talk about weight gain. i am still in denial!

Leave a Reply

