my easy run pace is not so easy…

Posted: July 20, 2008 in FHinlife, running, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Snuffy and I are doing our stetches. We are about to go for our early morning run. He turns to me and asks, “So what’s your easy run pace?”
I stare at him with a blank look on my face. He repeats his question. Slowly it dawns on me… My answer must contain a number… But Numbers and I do not play in the same playground! Hell! We never even shared the same neighborhood! I try to do a quick mental calculation but there lies the problem. In my world the words quick mental calculations never really go together. Especially before 11am…
I attempt to give it a go anyway…5k at 32 (or should it be 33?) minutes is equal to 32 divided by 5 which must be something close to 6… doodeedoodeedoo…and the cow jumped over the moon…60 secs to one minute so…i throw my hands up in frustration!
It is 530 in the morning and I am once again reminded that I am not a morning person. I never was. And it is cold! And I just want to get on with this run. The sooner I start running, the sooner I’ll get to breakfast. The sooner I get to breakfast, the sooner I can go back to sleep! It’s one of the things that make weekends special!
But Snuffy is now staring at me with a puzzled look. He is expecting an answer. I am supposed to know! Something as simple as an easy run pace shouldn’t take this long…
And then it hits me! “It’s 0917xxx5xxx,” I answer triumphantly! Snuffy knots his forehead and says… “That is not a pace, that is a phone number!”
“I know!” I tell him. “That is Batgirl’s number. She knows my pace!”

Leave a Reply

