i dream easy but run hard (sometimes!)

Posted: July 31, 2008 in FHinlife, running
Tags: ,

Loonyrunner posts in his blog that easy runs are the best type of runs for burning up fat in your system. I turn around and tell Snuffy about this in a very matter of fact tone. “Easy runs are the best type for losing fat!”
Snuffy gives me a look. Actually, it’s not just a look it’s THE look! The look I get when he suspects I am up to something. So before he can even say anything, I quickly add “He’s fast! He knows what he is talking about!” Snuffy knows me enough not to comment about the lack of logical weight in my argument. And I rattle on hoping he will not notice that my tone is getting a bit desperate.
“The more fat I lose, the lighter I get…one day I may even just float to the finish line!”
Snuffy nods and finally looks sufficiently impressed. He simply asks, “So how does this affect your running program?”
I answer not without a slight hint of triumph in my voice. “From now on I only do easy runs!”
“And your marathon plans? No tempos? No intervals? No need for speed?” He adds. I ignore him and pretend not to hear. “Doodeedoodeedoo….”
Snuffy sighs and just nods. I watch him a bit warily as he silently walks across the room and then he looks at me and says, “You better turn that off… It’s making a hell of a racket now!”
I look at him, confused. “What are you talking about?”
“Your alarm clock, turn it off. You’ve pushed the snooze button 3 times!”
“Oh!” I manage to say and then I wake up!
I look at the clock. It reads 5:19 am!
Blast! I’m supposed to be doing speed runs this morning! And I’m late! My phone is already blinking non-stop. I jump out of bed…
Sigh… I’m already huffing and puffing and I’m not even out the door yet!

Comments
  1. Just got back and 3 consecutive post already, wow, you’re on a roll πŸ™‚ Aren’t you supposed to be buried in work or something? Share your time-management secret naman πŸ™‚

  2. myironshoes says:

    πŸ˜‰ It’s no secret.. All you need to do is to learn to survive on just 3-4 hours of sleep a day. By the end of the week you will be a walking zombie… but you will also be too darn tired to notice this or to even care!
    Actually writing helps me to relieve stress… it helps hash out all these crazy stuff going on inside my head.

  3. littlea says:

    I wish that easy runs were all that were needed. Speed work makes you feel so good when you’re done, though!

  4. myironshoes says:

    Hi littlea! so true! … and a little less guilty about enjoying that extra scoop of ice cream! πŸ™‚

  5. fuerzaarmada says:

    Hindi rin… Elite runners have slim frames. They end up like palitos becacause of their training regimen which is composed mainly of speedworks or race pace. Easy or recovery runs are usually performed once or twice a week. Kaya nga walang oink na elite e. By the way, some of the members of the Army Team are my close friends… and they are willing to coach runners who want to improve their running. Sila usually yung nasa podium after the races. They are based in Tanay and in Fort Bonifacio.. Mura lang daw e… you can get in touch with them 0916.904.4825

    πŸ™‚ Haha! I’ll never be elite, just pilit! And I’ve never aspired for a podium finish… I guess that’s because breakfast is never part of the prize!

Leave a Reply

