the incredible shrinking route

Posted: September 7, 2008 in run, running
Tags: , ,

I guess I should be happy. I just finished running 25 kms and I find that my limbs have all managed to make it home with me. I even had enough energy left over to enjoy a really good breakfast with the gang.

Prometheus Cometh joined us during this run. That was kind of him. I know I was running way below the pace he was accustomed to. But he kept us company and filled the many kilometers we needed to run with interesting stories and insights as a marathon runner, a dad, and simply as an all around great guy. In the interest of full disclosure I do have to say that he treated this parched runner to a cold bottle of water and gatorade at 7/11. πŸ™‚ So yes, I do see him through blue gatorade colored glasses!

The only sad part about this run was that as we approached the cemetery (Libingan ng mga Bayani), the smiling guard there immediately handed me a piece of paper. And no, it wasn’t his number or a raffle ticket (which I would have bought. I like raffles!)Β  It was a notice in big, bold letters.

NOTICE

Effective 10 September 2008, the Libingan ng Mga Bayani is closed to all joggers, bikers and thru-passers. Visiting hours will be from 0800H-1700H daily (8:00am-5:00pm)

By ORDER OF THE HIGHER HQS

As timings go, this is pretty bad. Just when we’ve started the build up to longer distances we lose a part of our route that’s actually provided a bit of shade with its tree lined path and a relative feeling of peace and security during our runs. I loved that portion of our long run route. It’s the part that’s allowed me to breathe a little more easily. To recover from running the busier, more jarring section of Bayani Road with its traffic and rampaging jeepneys and tricycles and all that smoke! In a city where the closest thing we have to a park are our cemeteries, I cannot but consider it a great loss.

I guess our soldiers and heroes who lie at the Libingan ng Mga Bayani do deserve their peace. But as Prom and I made our way out through the cemetery gate for the last time, I just couldn’t help wishing that somehow they still continued to share a piece of that peace with the living.

Comments
  1. bards says:

    to the airport and beyond! πŸ˜›

    i will never doubt your powers in this universe again!

  2. Jinoe says:

    Just when I was planning to run in that place. I still have bad timings.

    Hmmm…If you do manage to sneak in and do your runs there after the 10th… baka you set a PR pa! Nothing like having guards with guns behind you to make a runner go faster! Happy running!

  3. prometheuscometh says:

    whoa new theme for your site? it was great running with you guys and discovering a new route. thanks for inviting me to come along. sad that they will close libingan but you know what they say about doors closing and windows opening. let me know when you decide to do a long run in UP!

    hmmm… in my world, doors closing and windows opening on their own portend the presence of ghosts or a coming typhoon! πŸ™‚ Yes, we will definitely do a UP run one of these day.

  4. littlea says:

    The notice doesn’t say anything about runners, just joggers. I’d say you can still use it.

    Hahaha! I like the way you think…;-)

  5. Hey, we’d like to invite you to join http://www.hutshot.com! It’s the new on-line social network for sports and fitness enthusiasts here in Manila. You can tag yourself in our photo galleries (which we promise to keep fresh and updated ASAP!) as well as inform other members about upcoming races and sports events. Best of all, you can help promote a healthy lifestyle to more and more individuals by spreading the word about our community. Thanks!

  6. DATC says:

    Looking for a fresh new long run route? Try Clark! There’s a new C cafe & deli near the parade ground, from the same people behind C resto outside Clark except that they were still closed on my way home at 9am yesterday.

    C! is for Carbo-loading! Yum! πŸ˜‰

  7. chito carreon says:

    Hi Mesh,
    Thanks for the info re Libingan, sad.. UP is a great place to do long runs with lots of shaded aread and parking of course. I’ve asked runmd to set a long run here on one sunday without a scheduled activity. The only problem is it’s very hard to keep up with you guys! ang bibilis niyo na talaga.

    Hi Chito! Si RunMD lang yung mabilis! We share the route but run it at a pace that works best for each of us. Otherwise, we may not be able to enjoy breakfast… Now that would be really sad!

  8. kingofpots says:

    mesh, try to locate the entry to the EcoZone beside the Libingan ng mga Bayani along the C-5 Highway and you can run along the farthest route inside the cemetery and I am sure the guard will never see you. anyway, i’ll try to ask the Commanding Officer of the Libingan ng mga Bayani why joggers/runners are no longer allowed inside once I arrive there. i knew that only the bikers were not allowed before. we will see..keep on running!

Leave a Reply

