running your age

Posted: September 22, 2008 in FHinlife, running
Tags: , , ,

And so it has come to this. It is 3:45 am on a Sunday morning and I am on my way to another weekend party. This time though I am in my running gear.  It’s going to be a running party. The SkinnyPiggyWiggy run.  It’s Mighty M’s 31st birthday celebration.

The plan was to run 31kms, or 25 or however many kilometers you wanted. You run as long and as far and towards any direction you want to go. You just need to make sure that at 7am you are back at the registration point. Because at 7 am, everyone is coming together and heading out for what has now turned out to be my favorite meal of the day, BREAKFAST!

The last time I was out this early, or this late, depending on how you choose to look at it, I was on my way to pick up a friend from a bar. She had called me because she was sure I would be awake. And she was certain I would be sober because, as she claims, I’ve turned boring.

This, from a 40plus year old who wore cummerbunds in the ’80s and messed up the ozone layer big time by spray netting her hair.

But yes, I’ve turned boring. Well, slightly…

Most of my friends are older than me. That’s how I con myself into thinking I’m still young. I just make sure I hang around older people.

I had one friend who stayed 40 three years in a row. I found out about it in the middle of her 2nd year as a 40 year old. We had gone together to the LTO to renew our driver’s license. I needed to renew mine, she needed to replace hers because apparently she donated it again to one of the bars in the area. Alcohol inspires generosity in some people. I put 36 as my age because I was basing it on hers. The guy at the counter told me I was only 35. She sheepishly admitted she was 41. He wasn’t so impressed with our creativity. I was in shock.

Mighty M says one should run one’s age. That’s her birthday ritual. She runs the equivalent distance of her age on her birthday or on a day close to it.  I wonder how long she plans to keep it up. But then she isn’t mighty M in my book for nothing. I’m sure she’ll find ways to keep running. Younger or older, I’ve also realized that most of my friends have a masochistic strain encoded in their genes.

I’m so glad we are in that part of the globe that’s using the metric system. I don’t think I can do the equivalent distance in miles. At this point, I should already be running ultras. (Unless I choose to run my mental age. Then that’ll be one very short easy run!)

Comments
  1. lonerunner says:

    as they say, “its ok 2b 40 as long as u looked 30”. 🙂

  2. sundaywarrior says:

    I’d say you’ve become more exciting (not boring) when you took up running… Age is just a number, it’s how you’ll beat younger runners in a race that matters..

  3. myironshoes says:

    lonerunner, hahaha! is that a plug for a struggling cosmetic surgeon?
    teka, are there even struggling cosmetic surgeons?

    sundaywarrior, 🙂 hay naku. that’s what i always tell myself when i’m already huffing and sweating after a particularly hard run. whooeey! exciting! doesn’t always work. but yeah, the challenge makes for an interesting morning, at the very least.

  4. lonerunner says:

    There are only few struggling cosmetic surgeons… It is because there are plenty of UGL… errr… mmm… NOT GOODLOO… mm… maybe because they charge soo much. hehehe. 🙂

  5. goal2run says:

    enjoyed reading this blog entry…

    thanks for dropping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

