E = (-) zzzs and (+) pain

Posted: September 30, 2008 in FHinlife, running
Tags: , , ,

I’m a genius in the mornings.

Newton’s first law of motion states that an object at rest tends to stay at rest and an object in motion tends to stay in motion unless acted upon by an unbalanced force.

I set my alarm clock (actually two) to ring at four this morning knowing that it would take little short of the force generated by an exploding star to get myself to roll out of bed for my morning run.

My problem was that I hated interval runs. (Still do!)  And I was scheduled to do one at 5am. So a few minutes after my alarm sounded, I decided it was time to have a brilliant idea. I then computed the total mileage of the interval set and sandwiched it in between two 3km easy runs (my warm up and cool down).  I would still need to do the dreaded fast pace at a certain point in the run but it didn’t sound as awful as doing a 6×800 at a little under 5 minute/km  pacing.  So 11kms it would be. I still wasn’t sure if I was doing a fartlek or a tempo in the middle. It didn’t matter. The main thing was that I had gotten rid of the interval.

First problem solved. The Interval run is thrown out of the window. I was off to do a sneaky tempo/fartlek/whatever run.

Humans perceive sound by the sense of hearing. By sound, we commonly mean the vibrations that travel through air and are audible to people. The matter that supports the sound is called the medium. The scientific study of the absorption and reflection of sound waves is called acoustics.

Next problem, I do not enjoy running alone. And MightyM, my run companion, had gone off to recharge at the beach.  No problem. I simply needed to bring a new playmate along. I grabbed the ipod nano, which I had so thoughtfully charged the night before, and headed out the door. In that split second before I stepped out of my front door and walked down the hallway to the elevator, I must have figured out a way to listen to music in my nano without using earphones. Because that’s the only logical conclusion I could draw as to why I had walked out of the door without it.  Nano in hand, no earphones. Like I said, genius!

Gravity is the natural force of attraction exerted by a celestial body, such as Earth, upon objects at or near its surface, tending to draw them toward the center of the body.

And off I go and the first three kilometers go by really fast. This is my next problem. I should have been going at a 6:15/km clip for my warm up. My Garmin, Mr. SoulCrusher, tells me otherwise. I started the run at 5:40 and accelerated quite some more after that. Which explains why 5kms into the run, I felt the force of gravity working on the center of my body (my butt) and forcing it towards the the core of the earth.

I was out of breath, out of water and nearing negative in the brain matter count. It’s a good thing I started out a genius!

Also I had managed to plan my route so well that my 5km tempo started right at the bottom of a steep incline. Brilliant, totally genius moves so far!

Solution? I veered off to the left, jogged a few hundred meters in a circle, did some deep breathing and calming exercises and then allowed momentum and pride (isn’t that a sin?) to draw me back to my old path and keep running.

From this point on I must have done something right. Simply because I find that  I’m still alive and am able to log this run in. It must have been exhilarating. It must have been fun.  I don’t remember. Clearly my entire consciousness then was focused on surviving the run.

Sneaky run over. Problems created. Problems solved. And all this before six in the morning!  I knew it! I’m a genius.

For other concerns like solving the world’s financial ills, world hunger, and world peace…talk to me after 11am.

Comments
  1. lonerunner says:

    According to GANDHI the Seven Deadly Sins are wealth without work, pleasure without conscience, knowledge without character, business without morality, science without humanity, politics without principle and IPOD without earphones. Tsk tsk shame on u. 🙂

  2. myironshoes says:

    LOL! hay naku! i really must repent. 🙂
    I’ve always suspected that I have this mansion waiting for me in hell. I now have a pretty good idea who my neighbors will be…

  3. lonerunner says:

    hahhah.. One day tour mo ako sa Mansion mo na yan ha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

