you say tomato, i say to-mah-toe

Posted: January 6, 2009 in FHinlife, myphilosophy, running
Tags: ,

I say fun and invigorating, you say stimulating!

It’s that time of year again…

That time of year when you find yourself gawking at your inbox and at all the unread emails you find waiting for you there! Personal inbox: 683/Work inbox: 1787!

Darn! And here I was congratulating myself for being just an inch short of amazing when I annihilated my 2008 TODO box (with my laser sword)Β  just before I went running off for the holidays!

There is one good thing about this email batch though. A number of them have turned out to be unopened holiday greetings. It’s my chance to have one last fling with the holidays before it disappears round the corner of time.

The thing I love best about my job is the travel and the people I get to meet along the way. It warms the heart to receive small servings of joy and delight in different languages. My favorite one this year comes from my Italian buyer. The fact that he looks absolutely Aragorn-ish (of the Lord of the Rings variety) does nothing to influence my stated preference one bit! (Well, of course it does!) I’m sure his greeting sounds wonderful in Italian. Everything sounds wonderful in Italian. Point in fact: bruschetta! (Hello! it’s just grilled bread rubbed in garlic and extra virgin olive oil!) The fact that he took great pains to write me back in English makes it all the more special. (No it wasn’t from his secretary! Stop it, Snuffy!) Obviously he wants to keep this whole connection between us going. I do love the Italian language but my vocabulary is, at this time, still limited. Let’s face it. Focaccia tiramisu pomodoro bruschetta amore does not a sentence make!

“Wishing you all the sweetness of the season and a STIMULATING 2009!”

The mischief-maker in my head immediately made a grab for that adjective: stimulating. STIMULATING, we love that word! We can definitely work out a plan for 2009 with that word in mind.

The blues in the print are already swirling like a hazy mist inside my head. Stimulating goals for 2009? Oh wow, I can’t wait!

But well, I have to. There is that matter of the 2000+ emails I do need to attend to first…

So, in the meantime, I leave you with this quote:

“The hours are left for vanishing and also for joy and for blessing and for gratitude.” Jason Shinder

All the very best for 2009 everyone! Here’s to a (spell it with me) s-t-i-m-u-l-a-t-i-n-g year ahead! πŸ˜‰

Comments
  1. sundaywarrior says:

    Hi Mesh have you started training for your next marathon? When is your next pala? Happy New Year!

    Haha! πŸ™‚ Hi Chito! I’ll figure that out as soon as my new knees arrive. Right now they are both still wrapped up with glowing pink tape. Let’s just say I had a close encounter (of the very annoying kind) with candidate no.1 for the idiot cyclist award.

  2. moljcy says:

    i heard about the accident. how can you not see running people in your bike path? ugh!

    πŸ™‚ No two objects can occupy the same space at the same time…. idiot cyclist man had mush inside of his head instead of a working brain! haha!

  3. dingdong says:

    sa sobrang sexy mo, nabighani mo yung nagbibisikleta!

    Oo naman. Matindi talaga magnetic appeal ko to moving chunks of metal! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

