running from tittivilus

Posted: March 20, 2009 in running, runs 2009
Tags: ,

What do you do when you find yourself in the middle of a hellish sort of work-travel season?

Tittivilus, that sack toting, word munching, gossip-mongering little monster of a demon has been hanging around my blog this whole month. Between the pressures of work and the early morning runs and the rising temperatures in and outside my office, I just could not find the time to even put two coherent sentences together. Every time I did try, that little demon would immediately spring into action, engineer some sort of distraction and as soon as my mind starts wandering (Yes, yes, it doesn’t really take much to get it to do that!) Tittivilus would then gobble up all the words I’ve managed to write down! You need a combination of iron will and lots of sleep to battle demons of this variety. I’ve been working at forging one for years but never did have much access to the other. Not even during the queen mom imposed siesta days of my youth. So, I’ve let Tittivilus hang around this little domain. I’ve allowed him to have his fun. This month there were simply much more pressing concerns I needed to attend to.

img_3008It’s been a month of airports, ports and tollgates. A series of skips and hops over territorial borders and an ocean or two. Still, it’s been a great month. Work has certainly taken up a lot of my time but there have been good times too. There was that 2-day romp with friends at a beach down south. Then there was that trek to Pinatubo Crater Lake up north. And in between, whenever time permitted, a few good runs. Not a lot but enough to keep me happy. And sane! (Or as close to it as possible!)

Race Day Sunday is now just around the corner. Everyone is excited about this one. There’s even that Carbo Loading Party that I’ve signed up for tonight. It’s all part of the preparation for the Condura Race that will take us to the Skyway and back. For me, it’s not so much about running this race fast. I wouldn’t mind being able to do that though! 🙂 It’s really more about running it F-U-N!! It’s my first race this season where I’m running sans hindrances and excuses. I’ve only joined 2 races this year. Happy Run (ran it while still slightly injured) RuNew (ran it while still jet-lagged and almost ended up staying inside the cemetery part of the route after the big sneeze incident. I sneezed as an allergic reaction as soon as I entered the cemetery/park gates and my back went into spasms because I was dehydrated. Don’t ask me why I signed up for a race when I knew I was going to arrive just two days earlier from a 19-hour plane trip. Believe me, it made a lot of sense at that time. It’s just a bit hard to explain at this point.) Anyway, there will be none of those excuses this race. This run, I’m all here. Not injured, not jet-lagged, not dehydrated, and definitely not out of my mind and distracted. I’m all here. I’ve got everything I need to make this a fun one for me. And I’m set on enjoying it.

But…I’ll deal with the 21K run on Sunday morning. For now, I’m simply getting ready for the BIG EAT!!!

So what do you do when you find yourself slogging it out down hell’s work portal and hanging around with a devilkin? You fix your gaze upwards, of course! You focus on that light at the end of a dark tunnel. And, when you find your chance, you mark your heaven and let your feet take you up, up, up towards the sky!

I’ll see you on the Skyway everyone! Happy running! 🙂

Comments
  1. moljcy says:

    Eat, drink and be merry!
    see you! =)

    I saw you… and you were a blur! Bilis! 😉

  2. Coach Dean says:

    You’re killin’ me. At least you have slayed tittivilus for now. 🙂

    🙂 let’s hope it’s for good!

Leave a Reply

